Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 10th, 2011

The only way I will find a blessing is when I first begin to look for a blessing.  Just like on every Easter morning when my big brother and I looked for the brightly colored Easter eggs.  We did not question that the Easter Bunny hid candy and eggs for us.  We knew in our hearts that we were surrounded by our treats and surprises even though we could not see them.  We were thrilled just to tightly hold our beautiful empty Easter baskets as we faithfully looked for our surprises.  I knew in my heart the colorfully dyed eggs were there, even though my Easter basket was empty.  I remember this feeling of joyful anticipation and faith that was deep inside of my happy heart.  I also knew in my heart, without a doubt, that if I just kept searching my living room and back yard that there would be many surprises and treats waiting just for me to grasp and place in my basket.  I was thrilled for the opportunity to look for my surprises.

Today, as I seek, I must not allow myself to sway from the power of my faith that I held within my heart and soul as a child.  I am still me.  My heart mustn’t be any less certain that another prize is waiting for me and at any moment it will be right in front of me to behold.

Hope.  Hope keeps me going.  Hope keeps me moving forward.  Hope allows me the energy to put one foot in front of the other when my basket is empty.  I must continue to remind myself to have that basket right next to me at all times and hold the handle tightly in my hand – ready to put my blessing in it the moment one shows itself before me.  I will not give up. The anticipation is way to great to quit. Perhaps my Easter egg hunts as a child, were preparation for my “blessing hunts” as an adult.

At the end of the day on this particular Easter egg hunt, my brother was quite satisfied at the amount of surprises he found.   Proudly, happily, he sat and rested and began to dig through his Easter basket.   He thought we had all of the Easter eggs and chocolates that had been hidden for us.  Did I ever give up on looking for my next piece of hidden Easter candy?  Nope – not until it got dark out.  And even the day after Easter, when no one was watching, I still secretly looked in a few more places – just in case.

As for blessings – they never ever run out – even at the end of a long day.  I will not sit and believe I have found all of my blessings, and that there are no more to be found.  I will continue to look for my next blessing, because as long as I keep looking for blessings, I will always find another to put in my beautiful basket for safe keeping.

Read Full Post »